Teaching With TPR

Today I taught my first lesson in my field placement. In my lesson, I was teaching students how to add sensory details into their narrative writings that they have been working on. I incorporated total physical response (TPR), in order to help students remember their sense. What I learned from teaching this lesson was, even thought I learned TPR as a way of helping ELL students, the physical movements helped all of my students recognize sensory details. Not only did it help all students, but it helped in aspects that I was not even expecting. TPR in my lesson wasnt just used in order to help students remember vocabulary, it also helped students to read the mentor texts as writers and not just listeners. TPR allowed me to have a writers workshop minilesson (which consists of mostly teacher directed explanations and can be boring) while still having students be active in their learning. What I learned from this lesson is while TPR can definitelyhelp ELL students, it benefits all students in the classroom. Bellow is my Sensory details lesson plan including some TPR.

463-sensory-details-writers-workshop

Leave a Reply

